Office Address: UK Office:
Newcastle Enterprise Centres,
6 Charlotte Square, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4XF


The Pods…

Emma Dabiri

is an Irish-Nigerian author, academic, and broadcaster. Her debut book, Don’t Touch My Hair, was first published in 2019.

Grace Nichols

is a Guyanese poet. Her first collection, I is a Long-Memoried Woman, won the Commonwealth Poetry Prize.

Bernadine Evaristo

is a British author and academic. She won the Booker Prize in 2019, making her the 1st black woman/black British person to win it.

Caleb Femi

is a Nigerian author, film-maker, photographer, and former young people’s laureate for London. Femi was born in 1990 in Kano, Nigeria.

Hannah Lavery

is a Scottish short story writer, poet, playwright and performer. She’s features in Gutter Magazine, The Scotsman newspaper and 404 Ink.

Jackie Kay

is a Scottish poet, playwright, and novelist, known for her works Other Lovers, Trumpet and Red Dust Road. Kay has won many awards

Jay Bernard

is a British writer, artist, film programmer, and activist. Bernard has been a programmer at BFI Flare since 2014, co-editor of Oxford Poetry

Johnny Pitts

is an English television presenter, writer and photographer from Firth Park, Sheffield. His books include Afropean: Notes from Black Europe.

Raymond Antrobus

is a British poet, educator and writer, who has been performing poetry since 2007. He won the Ted Hughes Award for new work in poetry.

Roy Williams

was eventually drawn to the power of live theatre and is now an award-winning playwright whose work often confronts issues of politics, racism, poverty and violence.

Selina Thompson

is a performance artist. Her work has been shown at Spill, Fierce, Mayfest, the Birmingham REP and the West Yorkshire Playhouse.

Zadie Smith

is an English novelist, essayist, and short-story writer. Her debut novel, White Teeth, immediately became a best-seller and won awards. 


Kingslee James McLean Daley, better known by Akala, is a British rapper, journalist, author, activist and poet from Kentish Town, London.

Alex Wheatle

is a British novelist, who was sentenced to a term of imprisonment after the 1981 Brixton riot in London. 

Dean Atta

is a British poet of Greek Cypriot and Caribbean descent. He has been listed as one of the 100 most influential LGBT people.

Dorothy Koomson

is a contemporary English novelist, who is of Ghanaian descent. She’s described as “Britain’s biggest selling black author of adult fiction”. 

Inua Ellams

 Born in Nigeria in 1984, Inua Ellams is an internationally touring poet, playwright, performer, graphic artist & designer.

Kit de Waal

is a British/Irish writer. Her debut novel, My Name Is Leon, was published by Penguin Books in June 2016.

Mara Menzies

is passionate about bringing African stories to life. Her stories range from traditional folklore to stories based on historical characters.

Marvin Thompson

is the winner of the 2021 UK poetry prize. Born in London to Jamaican parents, he now teaches English in mountainous south Wales.

Okechukwu Nzelu

is a writer and teacher. In 2015 he was the recipient of a New Writing North Award. In 2020 his debut novel, won a Betty Trask Award.

Patience Agbabi

is a British poet and performer who gives particular emphasis to the spoken word. She describes herself as both “bicultural” and bisexual.

Roger Robinson

is a British writer, musician and performer. His book A Portable Paradise won the prestigious T. S. Eliot Prize 2019.

Reni Eddo-Lodge

 is a British journalist and author, whose writing primarily focuses on feminism and exposing structural racism. 

Warsan Shire

is a British writer, poet, editor and teacher, who was born to Somali. In 2013 she was awarded the inaugural Brunel University African Poetry Prize.

Would you like to see more?

We have dedicated pages for teachers, students and parents packed full of even more free rescources. Click on the buttons below to take a look.